Leadership & Staff

The LINK program is guided under the leadership and facilitation of NSF-funded investigators with extensive involvment in mentoring students, fellows, early-career scientists, and undergraduate faculty, members of the NSF Biological Directorate, and dedicated members of the ASM Education Department.


LINK Steering Committee  

  • Chair, Mary Sanchez-Lanier, Washington State University 
  • Bruce Birren, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard
  • Alvin Holder, Old Dominion University
  • Beth Lazazzera, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Brian Nelms, Fisk University
  • Olga Steinberg-Neifach, Hostos Community College, CUNY
  • Joanne Willey, Hofstra University


Ex Officio members

  • Neil Baker (emeritus), The Ohio State University
  • Susanne von Bodman, National Science Foundation
  • Stacey Simon, National Science Foundation


ASM Staff

  • Amy Chang, ASM Education Director
  • Kelly Diggs-Andrews, ASM-LINK Mentoring Fellow
  • Kelly Gull, ASM Faculty Programs Manager
  • Irene Hulede, ASM Student Programs Manager