Profiles of ASM-LINK Awardees

Congratulations to our ASM-LINK Fellows

Expanding the scientific pipeline to improve undergraduate research training” 


Our fellows are models of excellence in STEM research and teaching. We applaud their dedication and recognize their accomplishments. To learn more about our awardees, click their names to access the profiles.


By award year:   2013 • 2014 • 2015 • 2016

2016 Awardees
Olga Calderon, LaGuardia Community College, CUNY, Long Island, New York
2015 Awardees

Lubna Abu-Niaaj, Central State University, Bellbrook, Ohio

Adrian Allen, Howard University, Washington, DC

Thessicar Antoine, Georgia State University, Atlanta, Georgia

Mariette Barbier, West Virginia University, Morgantown, West Virginia

Naydu Carmona, Queensborough Community College, Bayside, New York

William Carr, Medgar Evers College, CUNY, Brooklyn, New York

Anathbandhu Chaudhuri, Stillman College, Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Kavaljit Chhabra, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Xiomara Chianelli, El Paso Community College, El Paso, Texas

Ahkinyala Cobb-Abdullah, Bethune-Cookman University, Daytona Beach, Florida

Michael Coleman, Rochester Institute of Technology, Rochester, New York

Roslyn Crowder, Stetson University, Deland, Florida

Yuhua Farnell, Mississippi State University, Mississippi State, Mississippi

Robert Furler, Florida Southwestern State College, Fort Myers, Florida 

Ebony Glover, Kennesaw State University, Snellville, Georgia

Filipa Godoy-Vitorino, Inter-American University of Puerto Rico, San Juan, Puerto Rico

Xavier Gonzales, Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi, Texas

Tabitha Hardy, Stillman College, Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Jennifer Honda, University of Colorado, Denver, Colorado

Ramesh Katam, Florida A&M University, Tallahassee, Florida

Betsy Kleba, Westminster College, Salt Lake City, Utah

Jennifer Mosher, Marshall University, Huntington, West Virginia

Olabisi Ojo, Albany State University, Albany, Georgia

Anita Nag, Florida A&M University, Tallahassee, Florida

Takayuki Nitta, Savannah State University, Savannah, Georgia

Brenda Rushing, Texas A&M University San Antonio, San Antonio, Texas

Shameka Shelby, Florida Southern College, Lakeland, Florida

Chiyedza Small, Medgar Evers College, CUNY, Brooklyn, New York

Marquitta Smith, University of North Carolina, Pembroke, North Carolina

Rebecca Sparks-Thissen, University of Southern Indiana, Evansville, Indiana

J. Megan Steinweg, Roanoke College, Salem, Virginia

Amit Tiwari, University of Toledo, Toledo, Ohio

Pooja Tiwari, Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia

Randi Ulbricht, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee

Alex Valm, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland

Cora Varas-Nelson, University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona

Omar Villanueva, Dalton State College, Dalton, Georgia

Back to top

2014 Awardees

Rodney Bales, Texas Wesleyan University, Fort Worth, Texas

Stephanie Bingham, Barry University, Miami, Florida

Bruce Birren, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Christopher Boxe, Medgar Evers College of the City University of New York, New York

Tullia Bruno, University of Colorado School of Medicine, Aurora, Colorado

Geraldine Cochran, Rochester Institute of Technology, Rochester, New York

Nzola De Magalhaes, University of California, San Diego, California

Edwin Gines-Candelaria, Miami Dade College-Wolfson, Miami, Florida

Alvin Holder, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Virginia

Dawn HolmesWestern New England University, Springfield, Massachusetts

DiAnna Hynds, Texas Woman's University, Denton, Texas

Nastassia Jones, Philander Smith College, Little Rock, Arkansas

Shannon Jones, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Natraj Krishnan, Mississippi State University, Mississippi State, Mississippi

Jesse KwiekThe Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio

Michelle Linster, Bennett College, Greensboro, North Carolina

Jose  Manautou, University of Connecticut, Storrs, Connecticut 

Maria Massimelli, University of California, Irvine, California

Vanessa  McRae, Albany State University, Albany, Georgia 

Loyda Melendez, University of Puerto Rico Medical Sciences, San Juan, Puerto Rico

Brian Nelms, Fisk University, Nashville, Tennessee

Florence Okafor, Alabama A&M University, Normal, Alabama

Warren Sconiers, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, North Carolina

Teresa Shakespeare, Fort Valley State University, Fort Valley, Georgia

Sreejesh Shanker, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas

Olga Steinberg, Hostos Community College of the City University of New York, New York

Robert Walker, Philander Smith College, Little Rock, Arkansas

Sydeaka Watson, The University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois

Back to top



2013 Awardees

Christopher BasseyAzusa Pacific University, Azusa, California

Heike BückingSouth Dakota State University, Brookings, South Dakota

Paula FaulknerNorth Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, Greensboro, North Carolina 

Michael IbbaThe Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio

Michael PolymenisTexas A&M University, College Station, Texas

Joanne WilleyHofstra University, Hempstead, New York

Back to top

Looking for advice on ways to enhance undergraduate learning or just hoping to start a conversation about innovative ways to involve underrepresented minorities in research? The ASM-NSF Leaders Inspiring Networks and Knowledge (LINK) programs welcome your interest. Contact the individual awardee for details or email at for more information. 
LINK is sponsored by ASM with support from National Science Foundation grant no. 1241970.